Monday, May 20, 2024
The Friends of Cambridge Rindge and Latin School’s May 19 Scholarship and Award Night included “100 by 100” founding donor Selena Tan, high school principal Damon Smith and Class of ’16 scholarship awardee Raina Williams.

The Friends of Cambridge Rindge and Latin School’s May 19 Scholarship and Award Night included “100 by 100” founding donor Selena Tan, high school principal Damon Smith and Class of ’16 scholarship awardee Raina Williams.

From Friends of Cambridge Rindge and Latin School, June 9, 2016: Scholarships and awards totaling $33,100 was presented to 24 members of the Cambridge Rindge and Latin School Class of 2016 at the high school on the May 19 Scholarship and Award Night by Friends of Cambridge Rindge and Latin School.

FoCRLS sponsored and presented the Charlene Holmes Award Celebrating Friendship to Jodanah Jean Baptiste; CRLS Core Values Scholarships to Meklit Melaku and Samerawet Tsgie; Dr. Christopher Saheed Future Educator Scholarships to Sarah Lipset and Sabrin Mohadmenur; First Scholars Awards to Fahmida Pasha and Elmer Vivas Portillo; and the “It Takes a Village” Multi-Year Scholarship to Farheen Abhura. The organization presented continuing scholarships that included the Colonel & Mrs. Henry Bayard McCoy Memorial Scholarships, distributed by The New York Community Trust, to Benjamin Austin, Colin McNeely and William MacArthur; the Daphne S. Powell Scholarship, sponsored by Coleen Kay Walker, to Joann Nicole Cassama; the Dr. David A. Link Scholarship for the Health Professions, made possible by the physician’s family, friends, colleagues and patients, to Mehbooba Tamanna; the Fresh Start Contracting Corp. Award for Carpentry to Georgia Watt; the Maria J. Tavares Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by Mary Tavares Sutula and family, to Josue Cardoza Mena; and the Mary Frances Monti Scholarship, sponsored by FoCRLS scholarship chairman Neil Rosenburg in honor of his mother, to recipient Darius Mota.

The organization also introduced scholarships sponsored by a growing group of supporters, many of whom took the stage to present certificates to their awardees. Through the extensive “100 by 100” Cambridge Business Community Scholarship Initiative, the organization raised $10,000 this school year, resulting in five $2,000 scholarships in the Steam fields: in science to Emma Belabbes, in technology to Mystikal Scalzi, in engineering to Rafael Pereira, in the arts to Yanka Rodrigues and in mathematics to Alexis Rabkin.

Contributions to the fund, ranging from $100 to $2,000, were made by the initiative’s founding donors: Arams No. 2 House of Pizza, Architectural Resources Cambridge, Austin Architects, Bagelsaurus, Barrell Plumbing & Heating Co., The Barrett Family, Beat Brasserie, Black Ink, Bonny’s Garden Center, Boston Marriott Cambridge, Broadway Bicycle School, Broadway Marketplace, Cambridge Auto Center, Cambridge Bicycle, Cambridge Innovation Center, Cambridge Printing, Cambridge Trust, Carlone & Associates, Charles Hotel, Chestnut Hill Realty, Club Passim, Courthouse Seafood, Crema Café, Custom Eyes, Daedalus Restaurant, Dickson Bros. Hardware, Didriks, Fleming Printing, Formaggio Kitchen, Forty Winks, Four Burgers, Gibson Sotheby’s International Realty, Gnomon Copy, Grendel’s Den Restaurant and Bar, Harvard Book Store, Harvard Square Business Association, Hong Kong Restaurant, Irving House and Harding House, Klibaner & Sabino Law Offices, Local Root, Longleaf Lumber, M. F. Keane Contracting, Marc Truant & Associates, Middle East Restaurant & Nightclub, Newbury Comics, Nine Athens, Noble Wickersham & Heart, OPositive Coaching & HR Services, Pann Home Services & Remodeling, Petsi Pies, Porter Square Books, RV Print Solutions, Sheraton Commander Hotel, S+H Construction Inc., Susanna, Tags Hardware, Tayrona, Trademark Tours, Trinity Property Management, University Stationery and Zoe’s Restaurant.

Among other scholarship “firsts” offered by the organization this year were the Aurora M. (Ciccariello) Leydon Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by Jack Leydon, awarded to Iman Mouzinho; the Calvin Hicks Memorial Award for the Study of Music, sponsored by Marguerite Hicks-Gyewu and family and friends of Calvin Hicks, to Maximilian Kaufmann; the Juliette Kayyem & David Barron Scholarship for Children of First Responders, awarded to Raina Williams; the Patrick Ewing Scholarship, sponsored by NBA Hall of Famer Patrick Ewing (CRLS Class of ’81), awarded to Karalynn Ojeda-Pollard; and the Rose & Victor Rifkin Family Scholarships, made possible by the family and friends of Rose and Victor Rifkin and their descendants, awarded to Mehbooba Tamanna and Samerawet Tsgie.

Also new this year was a reception preceding the ceremony to recognize scholarship sponsors. In attendance were many recipients and honored guests, including Cambridge Mayor E. Denise Simmons, who addressed the crowd, along with high school principal Damon Smith, FoCRLS executive director Elaine Schear and CRLS Class of ’13 four-scholarship awardee Yvonne Appiah. Decorations and flowers were contributed by Coady Florist and Brattle Square Florist.

FoCRLS is a 501(c)3 nonprofit association that works to bring opportunities to students, graduates and faculty of the high school, the city’s only public high school, where nearly half of the students come from families with low income. To learn more about establishing a scholarship, donating or volunteering, visit, email [email protected] or call (857) 235-9290.