Sunday, July 14, 2024

In 2012 Cambridge voters came out in force to elect two progressive women from our city – U.S. Sen. Elizabeth Warren and state Rep. Marjorie Decker. In the two years since their election both Warren and Decker have been progressive stalwarts in their chambers. We, the undersigned, as progressive Democrats and activists in Cambridge encourage all our neighbors to re-elect Decker by voting for her in the 25th Middlesex District Democratic Primary on Sept. 9.

Since joining the State House, Decker has been a progressive stalwart, fighting for and winning on issues that are important to Cambridge voters. In the fight over charter school caps and welfare reform she has been on the side of public schools and those who believe people with modest incomes in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts should have a fighting chance. In the debate over welfare reform she helped amass a coalition to block some of the more destructive amendments that would have restricted the users of EBT cards simply trying to make ends meet.

Progressive organizations have recognized Decker’s leadership. The Massachusetts Sierra Club recognized her as a leader on environmental issues in the legislature due to her efforts to stop polluters such as Global Energy from bringing dirty energy into the commonwealth and her ability to secure funding for improved sidewalks and bike paths in Cambridge. The Massachusetts Nurses Association recognized her as freshman Legislator of the Year for her work and advocacy on the issue of domestic violence.

Like Warren, Decker is an unabashed progressive who works tirelessly for Cambridge families, children and seniors. She deserves another term representing the 25th Middlesex District on Beacon Hill. Please vote for her in the Democratic Primary on Sept. 9 and again in the General Election on Nov. 4.

Elizabeth Baldwin, Jim Cornie, Brian Corr, Larry Field, Carolyn Fuller, Victoria Harris, Ileana Jones, Jesse Kanson-Benanav, Walter Kasell, Kathleen M. Kelly, Elizabeth Kline, Margaret Levin, John Macdougall, Bill McAvinney, Marc McGovern, Ruth Ryals, Ginger Ryan and Cheryl Suchors