The mystery of Huron Avenue is more basic than you might guess
Cambridge’s streets have histories and stories, just as the city itself does. Among those stories, Huron Avenue is one of the richest – but one with a bit of mystery.
There are three main sources for these histories. Detailed records compiled by Lewis M. Hastings, the city engineer from 1889 to 1932, frequently identify for whom a street was named. Those published in 2005 by Christopher Hail, a librarian at Harvard’s Graduate School of Design, include the records of every building along every street. And “Streets and Ways,” the updated records published by the City Engineer’s Office, provides the dates that succeeding sections of a street – six, in the case of Huron Avenue – were laid out, along with their widths and lengths.
These sources have been compiled and edited for publication online by the Cambridge Historical Commission.
According to Hastings, the initial section extended from “near Hawthorne Avenue [now Grozier Road] to near what [was then] known as Standish Street.” The name first appears on a subdivision plan to link Lexington and Lake View avenues, filed in 1871 by developers Person Davis, T. Alfred Taylor and Reuben Demmon. It appears on the Hopkins map of 1873.
Augmenting such records are lively Cambridge Chronicle accounts from the late 1800s. In November 1872, reporting on a proposal to widen and extend what was then known as Huron Street, the Chronicle opined that “such an avenue could not fail to improve the value of property in this region.”
But in December 1891 the Chronicle reported that “the only apparent hitch in the proposed widening and extension … is in fixing the character and size of a curve at the junction of Sparks Street and Vassal Lane.” The original plan “would obliterate a row of spruce or pine trees which [Morrill] Wyman planted himself and which form a shelter to the house from the bleak north winds.” But, the Chronicle went on, “the matter can and will be adjusted, probably to the satisfaction of all concerned.”
To the mystery: The name of the street was changed to Huron Avenue in 1894. But the records give no clue to who gave it the name of “Huron” in the first place – or why.
Learn more about the area with A Close-up of Huron Avenue, a charming look back at the year 1980, when Fayerweather Street School students ages 8 to 11 conducted a five-month study of their neighborhood.
About History Cambridge
History Cambridge started in 1905 as the Cambridge Historical Society. Today we have a new name, a new look and a whole new mission.
We engage with our city to explore how the past influences the present to shape a better future. We strive to be the most relevant and responsive historical voice in Cambridge. We do that by recognizing that every person in our city knows something about Cambridge’s history, and their knowledge matters. We support people in sharing history with each other – and weaving their knowledge together – by offering them the floor, the mic, the platform. We shed light where historical perspectives are needed. We listen to our community. We live by the ideal that history belongs to everyone.
Our theme for 2021 is “How Does Cambridge Mend?” Make history with us at cambridgehistory.org.